Coming A Long Way

A Tribute To Team Singapore’s Athletes In Roller Sports
/content/major_games/sea/26th_sea_games_indonesia2011jakarta-palembang/news/26th_sea_games_indonesia2011news/comingalongway/jcr:content/mainpar/textimage/file

By Kelly Ng in Palembang
Photo by Nicky Loh/Getty Images for SSC

Unlike their peers in sports like table tennis and football who enjoy recognition and rewards, athletes representing Team Singapore in roller sports are an unknown lot. That hasn’t stopped them from winning their fair share of medals here in Palembang.

Silver & Bronzes

For instance, the women’s 3000m relay team won silver while the men’s 3000m relay team clinched bronze. In addition, Daryl Chan, Rebecca Chew, Carmen Goh and Emily Kwek earned individual bronzes. For all of them, being part of Team Singapore had been a most enriching experience.

Keep Going

Carmen, who won bronze in the women’s 10,000m event, recalled how she tackled her race. “I knew the Indonesian skaters are very strong. So my goal was just to keep up with them for as long as I can.” She added, “During the race, I kept telling myself to push myself through the heat and tiredness to hit my targeted timing.” What mattered most was the support of her team mates. “I think what really got me through was my teammates cheering me on by the side and giving me advice,” she said.

Similar Story

Daryl had a similar story to share. When asked what kept him going during his race when he had to come from behind to clinch the bronze, he said, “The race was tiring and I had thoughts of giving up. But I thought about the past year of hard training, my family, and all the effort that has been put in to let us even be here. That really pushed me to go on.”

First Step

Indeed, Singapore’s roller sport team has come a long way. For a team of non-full-time athletes that had to train without a full-time coach, their success here must be considered commendable. Hopefully, this SEA Games would mark a “first step” in raising recognition for the sport in Singapore, said Carmen.

sumber : http://www.teamsingapore.com.sg/content/major_games/sea/26th_sea_games_indonesia2011jakarta-palembang/news/26th_sea_games_indonesia2011news/comingalongway.html